Gasim elected chair of Budget Review Committee

Jumhoree Party (JP) Leader and MP for Maamigili, Gasim Ibrahim, has been elected chair of the parliament’s Budget Review Committee for the fourth consecutive year.

The 22-member committee comprises of the combined Finance Committee and Economic Affairs Committee.

The business tycoon and former JP presidential candidate was chosen with 12 votes in favour. Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party MP Dr Abdulla Mausoom was elected deputy chair with the same number of votes.

The committee is tasked with reviewing the budget and presenting a report to the People’s Majlis floor by December 1.