Majlis approves nominees to Police Integrity Commission, Elections Commission

The People’s Majlis today approved President Abdulla Yameen’s nominees to fill vacancies in the Police Integrity Commission (PIC) and the Elections Commission (EC).

Following evaluation by the independent institutions committee, MPs approved Adam Saeed Moosa to the PIC with 62 votes in favour, two votes against, and two abstentions.

Saeed was a senior official at the PIC. Following approval of his nomination, the president’s second nominee – Fathmath Minhath – was not put to a vote.

Meanwhile, of three nominees to fill two seats on the EC, parliament only approved Amjad Musthafa, from Gaaf Alif Maamendhoo Alivilaage, with 63 votes in favour, one against, and five abstentions.

Former EC Secretary General Asim Abdul Sattar received 23 votes in favour and 47 against while Aishath Hafeez received 22 votes in favour and 47 against.

The committee, however, had awarded Asim the highest marks with 91.4 points following its evaluation.

The five year terms of two current commissioners – Mohamed Farooq and Ali Mohamed Manik – are due to end on November 24.

Amjad’s appointment would still leave three vacancies on the five-member commission. Former EC Chair Fuwad Thowfeek and Deputy Chair Ahmed Fayaz were stripped of their seats by the Supreme Court in March this year.

Parliament subsequently approved Ismail Habeeb to the EC to replace a commissioner who resigned due to poor health – ensuring a three-member quorum for the parliamentary polls to be held as scheduled on March 22.