Majlis speaker announces five parliamentarians to lead in his absence

The names of five parliamentarians who will lead parliament in the instance that both the speaker and his deputy are absent, have been announced by Speaker Abdulla Maseeh.

Parliamentary regulations stipulate that the five members must be those who have served for the longest time in the chamber.

The five names are Holhudhoo constituency MP Ali Mohamed, Kanditheemu constituency MP Mohamed Hussain, Hinnavaru constituency and MDP Parliamentary Group Leader MP Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, former speaker and Henveiru Uthuru constituency MP Abdulla Shahid, and Guraidhoo constituency MP Hussain Manik Dhon Manik.