MDP holds parliamentary group elections

Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) held its parliamentary group elections, reports Miadhu.

Moosa Maniku was the only candidate for the chairmanship of the parliamentary group, and was elected by 20 out of 24 votes cast.

Mohamed Aslam and Ahmed Abdulla were elected as vice-chairs by 21 and 10 votes, respectively. Ahmed Sameer and Mohamed Nasheed also ran for the vice-chair post, receiving eight and seven votes, respectively.

Mohamed Shifaz, Ilyas Labeeb and Eva Abdulla were elected parliamentary whips with 23 votes each.

Hamid Abdul Ghafoor was elected Secretary General of the parliamentary group.