MP Nihan elected chair of budget review committee

Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) MP Ahmed Nihan has been elected chair of parliament’s budget review committee at the first meeting of the committee today.

Coalition partner Maldives Development Alliance (MDA) MP Ali Mauroof was meanwhile elected deputy chair.

The 24-member budget review committee is comprised of the economic affairs committee and public accounts committee.

While Nihan – PPM parliamentary group leader and majority leader – was elected with 21 votes in favour, Mauroof was elected with 15 votes.

The committee has 13 MPs from the ruling PPM-MDA coalition, seven opposition Maldivian Democratic Party MPs, and four Jumhooree Party MPs.

At its first meeting today, the committee decided to complete its review of the record MVR24.3 billion annual state budget presented at yesterday’s sitting by Finance Minister Abdulla Jihad by December 1.

Article 96(b) of the Constitution states, “The People’s Majlis may approve or amend the budget submitted by the Minister of Finance as in its discretion it deems fit.”


One thought on “MP Nihan elected chair of budget review committee”

Comments are closed.