MPs Rozaina, Ali Azim elected DRP deputy leaders at fourth congress

MPs Rozaina Adam and Ali Azim were elected deputy leaders of the Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party (DRP) today at the ongoing fourth national congress of the party.

Out of the five contenders for the three vacant posts, Rozaina came first with 382 votes followed by Azim with 258 votes.

A runoff is due to take place tomorrow (April 26) after MP Ahmed Ramiz and Economic Development Minister Ahmed Mohamed each garnered 243 votes for the third deputy leader post.

The fifth and last placed candidate was Fisheries State Minister Ali Solih.

Six members were also elected to the party’s council from 11 candidates. They were Education Minister Dr Ahmed Asim, Dr Hamid Rasheed, Ahmed Shareef, Mohamed Saleem, Assad Shareef and Ahmed ‘Kelaa’ Nizam.

At yesterday’s session of the DRP congress, delegates voted to abolish the post of ‘Zaeem’ or ‘Honorary Leader’ previously reserved for the party’s founder, former President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom.

An amendment was also approved to the party’s charter to offer the party’s ticket to sitting MPs and councillors without contesting in a primary.