New ACC members nominated, PIC members appointed

President Abdulla Yameen has forwarded 5 names to the People’s Majlis for membership of the Anti Corruption Commission.

Current members Hassan Luthfee and Muaviz Rasheed have been renominated along with Aminath Minna, Yazumeed Mohamed, and Sofwath Mohamed. The ACC’s inaugural five-year term is set to end this year.

The president has also appointed three members to the Police Integrity Commission with Ali Nadheem, Fathimath Sareera Ali Shareef, and Mohamed Faruhad receiving letters of appointment at the President’s Office yesterday.

The new members for the five-person commission had been approved by the Majlis earlier this week, while a fourth nominee was rejected.