President appoints members to employment tribunal

President Abdulla Yameen has appointed two new members to the seven-member employment tribunal today.

The president presented letters of appointment to Aishath Fizleen and Hussain Faiz Rashad at a ceremony this morning and Supreme Court Justice Abdulla Areef administered the oaths of office.

The pair were appointed for a five-year term.

The employment tribunal was established in 2008 to adjudicate and resolve employment disputes. The tribunal hears cases on unfair dismissal, breach of contract, suspension or demotion, discrimination, promotions, and compensation.