President appoints two deputy ministers

President Mohamed Waheed Hassan appointed two deputy ministers on Tuesday to serve the tourism and transport ministries respectively.

Hussein Lirar (Gaaf Dhaal Hoadhedhoo, Finifenmaage) was appointed to the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture, while Abdul Latheef Mohamed (Hulhumalé 10213) was appointed to the Ministry of Transport and Communication.

The new appointments come after President’s spokesperson Abbas Adil Riza told local media in early March that no new appointments would be made.

Waheed now has 14 ministers, 16 state ministers and 20 deputy ministers.