President reconstitutes tender evaluation board

President Abdulla Yameen yesterday reconstituted the tender evaluation board, appointing Deputy Tourism Minister Hussain Lirar its new chairman.

Other members appointed to the board were State Attorney Moosa Alim, Zeeniya Ahmed Hameed, deputy director general at the Housing Ministry, Ahmed Ifthihar, director at the Economic Ministry, Rilwan Adam, director at the Finance Ministry, Mohamed Ali, director general at the President’s Office, Ahmed Gasim, deputy director general at the Health Ministry, and Saudhulla Hilmy.

President Yameen also made a number of changes to the boards of eight public companies and state-owned enterprises through the privatisation board.

According to local media reports, Dhiraagu Chairman Ibrahim Athif Shukoor was replaced with Rilwan Shareef while a government representative on the Dhiraagu board, Ilham Hussain, was dismissed and replaced with Abdulla Ahmed.

Maldives Water and Sewerage Company (MWSC) Managing Director Mohamed Ahmed Didi along with five board members were also dismissed and replaced.

Among other companies that saw top level changes were the Maldives Marketing and Public Relations Corporation, Housing Development Corporation, Maldives Tourism Development Corporation, Gulhifalhu Investment, Hithadhoo Ports Ltd, Kulhudhufushi Ports Limited, and the Aasandha Company.