Referendums to take place in 68 islands

Public referendums are due to take place in 68 islands to determine administrative units or inhabited islands prior to the upcoming local council elections.

The government has proposed creating one island council for islands separated by four nautical miles by joining them to form one administrative constituency.

Following official talks with the opposition Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party (DRP) last week, both sides agreed to hold referendums before October 9 and propose amendments to the Decentralisation Act before October 10 as well as to announce constituencies on October 17 and hold elections before December 31.