Revised committee composition approved

Parliament yesterday approved the revised composition of standing committees with 71 votes in favour, one vote against and one abstention.

A drawn out dispute over the representation of parties in the committees during the previous session of parliament brought all committee work to a standstill.

Following the reworking in July, the composition of committees had to be revisited at the beginning of the current session after a number of Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party (DRP) left the main opposition party.

While 28 MPs were elected on a DRP ticket in May 2009, only 16 now remain.

Under parliamentary rules of procedure, the 11-member committees should reflect the composition of the Majlis floor. With 45 percent of seats, the ruling Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) is entitled to five seats in each committee.

Opposition MPs meanwhile retain control of influential oversight committees, such as the Public Accounts Committee.