Preliminary PPM primary results roll in

The ruling Progressive Party of the Maldives (PPM) has announced preliminary results for eight constituencies in Malé in ongoing primaries to determine candidates for the People’s Majlis election.

The governing coalition had allocated 49 out of 85 seats for the PPM. Candidates in 13 constituencies won the party ticket by default, and an additional five candidates were awarded the ticket after their contenders failed to gain more than 75 percent in the vetting process.

The PPM is to hold primaries for the remaining six constituencies today.

In Malé, state owned Maldives Broadcasting Corporation’s (MBC) reporter that Aishath Liza won the ticker for the Medhuhenveiru constituency. Film producer and writer Fathimath Nahla defeated footballer Ali Umar to win the ticket for Machangoalhi Uthuru.

TV presenter Aminath Namza lost the Galholhu Uthuru constituency to Maheel Ali Jaleel.

Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports Ahmed Rifau ‘Bochey’ won the Maafannu Dhekunu ticket against footballer Shah Ismail.

Asma Rasheed won the Maafannu Medhu constituency against Deputy Home Minister Mohamed Hanim – Asma is the mother of Minister of Presidential Affairs Mohamed Hussein Shareef.

Former goalkeeper of VB Sports Club Mohamed Sinan won the Maafannu Hulhangu ticket, while Hassan Ziyath won the Hulhuhenveiru ticket. Abdulla Shinan won the Machangoalhi Dhekunu primary.

The PPM is yet to announce results for 17 constituencies, but results circulating on social media indicate incumbent MP for Thimarafushi constituency Mohamed Shareef successfully defended the party ticket.

However, MP Mohamed Rasheed (Matrix Mode) who recently defected from the opposition  to the PPM appears to have lost the Addu City Hithadhoomedhu ticket to former MP ‘Hiyalee’ Mohamed Rasheed.

In southern Addu city, Ali Ibrahim won the Hithadhoo Uthuru ticket and Mohamed Shahid won the Hulhudhoo ticket. Ali Ibrahim won the ticket for Hithadhoo Uthuru.

The Fuvahmulah Atoll Council President Ali Fazad won the Fuvahmulahmedhu ticket.

PPM lawyer Mohamed Waheed won the ticket for the Kaafu Atoll Thulusdhoo constituency against Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports Naif Shaukath.

Mohamed Latheef won the Gaaf Dhaal Atoll Faresmathoda constituency against Deputy Home Minister Ahmed Siddiq. Saud Hussein won the Gaaf Alif Atoll Villingili ticket and Abdulla Mohamed won the Gaaf Dhaal Madaveli primary.

Ahmed Thoriq won the Felidhoo ticket while Jameel Usman won the Gemanafushi ticket. Abdulla Nazim won the Hinnavaru ticket and Jaufar Dawood won the Raa Atoll Ungoofaaru ticket.

The JP has assigned candidates for all 28 seats without primaries. All eight incumbent MPs as well as former Commissioner of Police Abdulla Riyaz have received the party ticket.

The MDA held primaries in late January for two of the nine constituencies reserved for the party. The party ticket was awarded to two incumbent MPs and a further two candidates won the ticket by default.

The religious conservative Adhaalath Party has also announced it will field five candidates in constituencies reserved for the JP.

The AP has condemned the coalition’s decision to exclude the party from the constituency allocation.