EC announces official results of Feydhoo, Velidhoo by-elections

The Elections Commission (EC) announced the official results of Saturday’s by-elections in Noonu Velidhoo and Addu Feydhoo yesterday.

The by-elections took place on September 20 for vacant seats in the Velidhoo island council and Addu City Council.

In the Feydhoo constituency of Addu City, opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) candidate Ali Fahmy Ahmed defeated ruling Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) candidate Eana Naseer.

While Fahmy won 1,068 votes (55.14 percent), Eana received 869 votes (44.86 percent). With 3,782 eligible voters, the turnout was 1,965 (51.96 percent).

On the island of Velidhoo in Noonu atoll, government-aligned Maldives Development Alliance (MDA) candidate Ali Mujthaba beat MDP candidate Abdulla Ahmed Shafeeq with 647 votes (55.54 percent) to 518 votes (44.46 percent).

The victory secures a majority of the five-member Velidhoo island council for the PPM-MDA ruling coalition with three pro-government councillors and two MDP councillors.

The Velidhoo by-election was called after an MDP councillor resigned. Of 1,803 eligible voters, 1,189 people (65.95 percent) cast their ballots.

All six seats of the Addu City Council is meanwhile held by MDP councillors. The by-election was announced after former Feydhoo councillor, Abdulla Aswan, died of a heart attack on July 8.


MDP seeks candidate for Velidhoo council by-election

The opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) has made an announcement inviting interested members to contest in a primary scheduled for July 24 to choose a candidate to contest in a by-election for a vacant island council seat in Noonu Velidhoo.

Potential candidates were asked to submit application forms to the party’s national secretariat before 3pm next Monday (July 21). The  Elections Commission (EC) have not announced a date for the by-election yet.

The party’s candidate for a vacant seat on the Noonu Kendikolhudhoo island council was meanwhile elected by default this week after no other candidates stood for the seat.

The opposition party has a majority on the five-member Velidhoo council while the parliamentary constituency that includes the island is also represented by an MDP MP.