Parliament fails to appoint new representative to JSC

The Parliament has failed to come to a decision in appointing a new representative to the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) after all four proposed candidates failed to obtain the required majority.

The names of the four MPs proposed to fill the judicial watchdog’s vacancy included: opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) MP Ahmed Hamza, Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) MP Abdul Azeez Jamaal Aboobakr, former MDP and currently Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party (DRP) MP Mohamed ‘Colonel’ Nasheed, and independent MP Mohamed Hussain.

During the voting session held today, 39 MPs out of 73 who took part decided against appointing Hamza to the position, while 34 MPs voted in his favour.  

Meanwhile, 55 MPs opposed the proposition to appoint ‘Colonel’ Nasheed, and 42 MPs voted against Jamaal Aboobakr. Independent MP Mohamed Hussain withdrew his name.

Following the outcome, Speaker of Parliament Abdulla Shahid announced that the Majlis would open the opportunity for parties to propose names in the next session.

Previously, resort tycoon and leader of Jumhoree Party (JP) Gasim Ibrahim was parliament’s representative at the JSC, but he had to give up the seat after he was officially declared a candidate in the upcoming presidential election.

In June 2011, Gaism Ibrahim was appointed to the commission after parliament voted out the former MP late Dr Afrasheem Ali.  In a close contest between then ruling MDP and the opposition parties, Gasim Ibrahim beat former MDP Chairperson MP Mariya Ahmed Didi by 38 votes to 36.

The current JSC composition includes speaker of parliament, a judge from Supreme Court, a High Court judge, a judge from trial courts, a member of parliament, a member appointed from the general public, the Civil Service Commission Chair, an individual appointed by the president, the attorney general, and a lawyer elected from those registered in the country.

During today’s session, parliament also appointed former Education Minister Dr Dr Mohamed Latheef as chair of Civil Service Commission (CSC) – a post that had been vacant since the parliamentary deposition of Fahmy Hassan.