DRP to contest six seats in parliamentary elections

The Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party (DRP) has announced that the party will field six candidates in the upcoming parliamentary elections scheduled for March 22.

Along with present leader, MP Mohamed ‘Colonel’ Nasheed – who will be standing for the Laamu Isdhoo seat – the other candidates are Badrudeen Naseem for the Kanditheemu constituency, Ismail Zakariyya for the Dhuvafaru constituency, Ahmed Shareef for the Galolhu South constituency, Assad Shareef for the Machangoalhi South constituency, and Lirqam Saeed for the Maavah constituency.

Nasheed told the press on Thursday that the constituencies were determined by the DRP council based on the party’s support in the selected islands.