EC to hold polls for five local councils on February 15

The Elections Commission (EC) has scheduled polls for four island councils and one atoll council for February 15.

Polls are being held to determine the fifth member of the Haa Alif atoll Muraidhoo, Shaviyani atoll Kondey, and Raa atoll Maakurathu island councils after two candidates were tied for fifth place during the vote held on January 18.

A fresh vote is being held in Noonu atoll, Miladhoo island, with the EC having invalidated the January 18 vote due to irregularities.

The delayed polls for the Gaaf Alif atoll council will also be held on February 18. The EC had postponed the vote to allow additional time for a formerly disqualified candidate to campaign. After the Supreme Court overturned the ruling, the vote was delayed, only for the candidate in question to withdraw.

Eligible voters who wish to cast their ballot in a location other than the box with which they are currently registered can submit re-registration forms at the EC until 3:00pm tomorrow.

Ballot boxes will only be placed in the respective islands and in Malé. To check registration status, send an SMS to 1414 with VIS [National ID#].