Majlis approves president’s nominees to Elections Commission

The People’s Majlis today approved two nominees of President Abdulla Yameen for vacant seats on the Elections Commission (EC).

Mohamed Shakeel and Ahmed Sulaiman were approved with 54 votes in favour and 16  against.

The pair were subsequently sworn in and presented letters of appointment at a ceremony this afternoon at the President’s Office.

Despite being presented with three nominees last month, the Majlis only approved Amjad Musthafa, leaving the five-seat commission with just two members following the expiry of Mohamed Farooq and Ali Mohamed Manik’s five-year terms.

The five-member commission that oversaw last year’s presidential election was reduced to four after Ibrahim ‘Ogaru’ Waheed resigned for health reasons during the poll.

The commission was further reduced in February this year, with the Supreme Court removing Chair Fuwad Thowfeek and Deputy Chair Ahmed Fayaz.