Majlis committee approves two more EC candidates

The Majlis independent institutions committee has approved the nomination of two new member to the Elections Commission (EC).

The names of Mohamed Shakeel and Ahmed Sulaiman will now be sent to the full floor to be approved as the third and fourth members of the EC.

Despite being presented with three nominees earlier this month, the Majlis only approved Amjad Musthafa, leaving the five-seat commission with just two members following the expiry of Mohamed Farooq and Ali Mohamed Manik’s terms.

The five-member commission that oversaw last year’s presidential election was reduced to four after Ibrahim ‘Ogaru’ Waheed resigned for health reasons during the poll.

The commission was further reduced in February this year, with the Supreme Court removing Chair Fuwad Thowfeek and Deputy Chair Ahmed Fayaz.

Source: Haveeru