PPM wins Milandhoo council by-elections

The ruling Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) has won two seats in the Shaviyani Atoll Milandhoo Island Council by-elections.

PPM candidates Mohamed Mansoor and Hassan Abduhrahman won the two seats against the opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) and Jumhoory Party (JP) candidates.

“Winning the Milandhoo elections in this crucial time is an incredible win for the party,” PPM MP Abduraheem Abdulla told Haveeru.

“We won the elections because President Abdulla Yameen’s vision for the country. This win is for him.”

Mohamed Mansoor got 596 votes while Hassan Abduhrahmaan got 558. The JP candidate Mohamed Rasheed got 464 votes while MDP candidate Ahmed Azeem got 459 votes.