President appoints three new ambasadors

President Abdulla Yameen has today appointed ambassadors to the European Union, Belgium, China, and Kuwait.

Upon his return from Singapore this morning, Yameen presented a letter of appointment to Ahmed Shiaan – formerly acting high commissioner to the United Kingdom – who will become ambassador to Belgium and the ‎European ‎‎Union.

Additionally, ‎Mohamed Faisal was appointed as ambassador ‎to ‎China, and Abdulla Hameed as non-resident ambassador to Kuwait.

The president also ratified the Bill to Repeal Act on the Detention and Imprisonment of Persons for More than Seven Days, and the Bill on Amendment to the Child Protection Act.