33 islands will not receive ballot boxes for PPM presidential primary election

The Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM) has decided 33 islands in the Maldives will not receive ballot boxes for its upcoming presidential primary election.

PPM Election Committee Member Mohamed Tholal told local media on Tuesday (March 19) that islands with less than 18 PPM will not receive the ballot boxes.

Local media reported that PPM members who reside within the 33 islands not chosen to receive a ballot box will still be able to vote at islands where the ballot boxes are placed.

According to local media, the islands chosen to not receive the ballot boxes are Haa Alif Mulhadhoo, Haa Alif Thurakunu, Shaviyani Kan’ditheem, Shaviyani Maaun’gudhoo, Shaviyani Maroshi, Shaviyani Noomaraa, Noonu Kudafaree, Shaviyani An’golhitheem, Raa Fainu, Baa Dhonfanu, Baa Fehendhoo, Baa Goidhoo, Baa Hithaadhoo, Baa Kamadhoo, Baa Kihaadhoo, Baa Kudarikilu, Alif Alif Feridhoo, Alif Alif Maalhos, Alif Dhaalu Dhigurah, Alif Dhaalu Fenfushi, Alif Dhaalu Kun’burudhoo, Alif Dhaalu Mandhoo, Alif Dhaalu Dhidhdhoo, Vaavu Keyodhoo, Vaavu Rakeedhoo, Vaavu Thinadhoo, Meemu Raiymandhoo, Faafu Magoodhoo, Dhaalu Ban’didhoo, Dhaalu Hulhudheli, Dhaalu Maaen’boodhoo, Dhaalu Meedhoo and Laamu Gaadhoo.

The PPM Election Committee has announced a total of 172 ballot boxes will be placed in 148 islands for its primary elections.

Both Abdulla Yameen and Umar Naseer are competing for presidential primary scheduled for March 30.