CSC asks Pension Office for lump sum of MVR 2.5 million for eight retired civil servants

The Civil Service Commission (CSC) has asked the Pension Office to release a lump sum of MVR 2.5 million as pension for eight civil servants who retired between 2008 and 2010, reports Sun Online.

Sun Online has obtained a letter from the CSC to the Pension Office requesting pension funds for the eight individuals from April 2011 onward.

The Pension Office has however contended that the individuals were not entitled to a government pension under the Public Finance Act.

The retired civil servants were Hussain Moosa, of Finivaage Kaashidhoo, retired on January 5, 2009 after 22 years, 11 months and 24 days (MVR90,000); former Deputy High Commissioner to the UK, Adam Hassan, of Ocean Lodge, retired on 3 June 2008 after 24 years and 22 days (MVR320,000); Mohamed Zuhair, of M. Oceania, retired from the post of Chief Executive Officer on 7 August 2008 (MVR343,000); Abdullah Shakir, of Baikan’dige Aage, retired from the post of Assistant Director on 22 September 2008 (a monthly pension of MVR2,417 monthly in addition to a lump sum of MVR120,000); Ahmed Wajeeh, of Hazaarumaage, retired from the post of Executive Director in September 2008 (MVR120,000); Abdul Haadhee Ibrahim Didi of Aasikkage, M. Muli, retired after 27 years, 9 months and 19 days (MVR114,600);  Abdullah Faroog Hassan, of Primrose, Fuvahmulah, retired from the post of Commissioner on 7 August 2008 after  39 years, 11 months and 7 days (MVR1,000,000); and Adhnan Abdullah, of Kudhimaage Haa Alif Ihavandhoo, retired on 7 June 2010 after 34 years, 2 months and 14 days (MVR219,120).