Majlis standing committees constituted

Parliament yesterday (June 30) approved a report by a select committee tasked with constituting standing committees and allocating seats on the Majlis’ 13 committees.

The select committee decision was passed with 49 votes in favour, three against, and seven abstentions at yesterday’s sitting of parliament.

A list of MPs proposed by political parties for the 13 standing committees was also passed with 57 votes in favour and three abstentions.

Following the vote, 11 of the 13 standing committees held their first meeting yesterday and elected chairs and deputy chairs. MPs of the ruling Progressive Party of Maldives were elected chairs of all 11 committees.

Along with five MPs of coalition partner Maldives Development Alliance, the ruling coalition has a clear majority of 46 MPs in the 85-member People’s Majlis.